No fap and continence?
Wanted to know what you think about this? A lot of people advise it but people like Willhelm Reich seemed to think you have to have a lot of sex? http://selfdefinition.org/celibacy/berna...idence.htm
(10-01-2016, 11:00 PM)Arborescence Wrote: Wanted to know what you think about this? A lot of people advise it but people like Willhelm Reich seemed to think you have to have a lot of sex? http://selfdefinition.org/celibacy/berna...idence.htm

My sense is that a meaningful relationship with a loved one can be an indication of metabolic health. 

Conversely, one's interest in addictive or compulsive behaviour should wane at the same time as metabolic health improves.
Wilhelm Reich did not advocate limitless sexual indulgence
http://www.orgonomy.org/articles/Baker/S..._Reich.pdf
He had very interesting ideas on the subject however, which might help you.

I have been practicing brahmacharya for many years. I think it's integral to any yoga practice, but, I don't really notice any bad effects (outside of meditation) when I experimented with stopping.
It was very different when I was hypothyroid though; I would immediately feel the familiar effects of serotonin/estrogen/prolactin, whenever i had sex, regardless of if it was with a partner or not. It's probably related to urea/zinc/glucose/fructose, and endotoxinemia from lowered immunity.
I think it's best to keep as low as possible while you're hypothyroid, although the estrogen makes this more difficult. Meditating is good for doing this; if you want something basic, you can look up Jon-kabat zinn's mindfullness guides, they're usually on youtube; it will introduce you to insight meditation.
(11-01-2016, 03:25 PM)huxleyan_dialectics Wrote: Wilhelm Reich did not advocate unlimited indulgence in sex;
He has very interesting ideas on the subject however, which might help you.